top of page

blog categories.

Astrology for Beginners | Understanding the Houses, Signs, Planets and Aspects

Astrology, an ancient art and science, has fascinated humanity for centuries. The study of celestial bodies and their influence on our lives has garnered interest from both spiritual seekers and scientific minds alike. Whether you're a curious novice or seeking to delve deeper into this fascinating realm, this beginner's guide to astrology will introduce you to the fundamental concepts of houses, signs, planets, and aspects.

Understanding the Basics

Astrology is based on the belief that the positions and movements of celestial bodies, such as planets and stars, influence human life and personality. The astrological birth chart, or the natal chart, is a snapshot of the sky at the moment of an individual's birth, providing valuable insights into their potential traits and life experiences.

The Zodiac Signs

The Zodiac is divided into twelve signs, each corresponding to a particular month. These signs represent various archetypes and energies that influence individuals born under them. Here is a brief overview of the twelve signs:

♈️ Aries (March 21 - April 19): The first sign, is associated with assertiveness and leadership

♉️ Taurus (April 20 - May 20): Known for stability and determination

♊️ Gemini (May 21 - June 20): Representing versatility and curiosity

♋️ Cancer (June 21 - July 22): Associated with nurturing and emotional sensitivity

Leo (July 23 - August 22): A sign of creativity and self-expression

♍️ Virgo (August 23 - September 22): Known for practicality and attention to detail

♎️ Libra (September 23 - October 22): The sign of balance, diplomacy, and relationships

♏️ Scorpio (October 23 - November 21): Associated with intensity and transformation

♐️ Sagittarius (November 22 - December 21): Representing adventure and philosophical thinking

♑️ Capricorn (December 22 - January 19): Known for ambition and responsibility

♒️ Aquarius (January 20 - February 18): The sign of innovation and humanitarian ideals

♓️ Pisces (February 19 - March 20): Associated with empathy and intuition

The Planets

Astrology considers the positions of various planets at the time of birth, with each planet symbolising specific aspects of one's personality and life experiences. Here is a summary of the major planets in astrology:

Sun: Represents the core self, ego, and life purpose

Moon: Symbolizes emotions, subconscious, and instincts

Mercury: Associated with communication, intellect, and learning

Venus: Represents love, relationships, and aesthetic preferences

Mars: Symbolizes energy, ambition, and assertiveness

Jupiter: Associated with expansion, luck, and higher learning

Saturn: Represents discipline, responsibility, and life lessons

Uranus: Symbolizes innovation, change, and individuality

Neptune: Represents intuition, spirituality, and creativity

Pluto: Associated with transformation, power, and regeneration

The Astrological Houses

The birth chart is divided into twelve houses, each ruling different aspects of life. The houses are not associated with the zodiac signs but are determined by the time and location of birth. Here is a brief overview of the twelve houses:

  • 1st House: Represents the self, physical appearance, and first impressions

  • 2nd House: Symbolizes personal resources, finances, and material possessions

  • 3rd House: Associated with communication, siblings, and short journeys

  • 4th House: Represents home, family, and roots

  • 5th House: Symbolizes creativity, romance, and self-expression

  • 6th House: Associated with health, daily routines, and service

  • 7th House: Represents partnerships, marriage, and significant relationships

  • 8th House: Symbolizes transformation, shared resources, and intimacy

  • 9th House: Associated with higher education, philosophy, and long journeys

  • 10th House: Represents career, public image, and achievements

  • 11th House: Symbolizes friendships, social circles, and goals

  • 12th House: Associated with spirituality, the subconscious, and self-undoing

Astrological Houses Infographic
Astrological Houses

Astrological Aspects

Aspects in astrology refer to the angular relationship between planets in the birth chart. They influence how planets interact with one another and reveal more about an individual's personality and life experiences.

Here are some essential aspects:

Conjunction: Planets are closely aligned, amplifying their combined energy

Opposition: Planets 180 degrees apart, representing tension and contrasts

Trine: Planets 120 degrees apart, signifying harmony and support

Square: Planets 90 degrees apart, indicating challenges and growth opportunities

Sextile: Planets 60 degrees apart, offering opportunities for positive developments

Quincunx: Planets 150 degrees apart, representing a sense of unease and adjustment


Astrology offers a profound perspective on the complexities of human life and the universe. Understanding the basics of houses, signs, planets, and aspects provides a foundation for exploring your own birth chart and gaining valuable insights into your unique characteristics and life path. Remember that astrology is not deterministic but rather a tool for self-awareness and personal growth. Embrace its wisdom with an open mind, and you may discover a deeper connection to yourself and the cosmos. Happy astrological journey!

join my mailing list

You will get:

📚 Your free eBook on Developing Your Spirituality

🏷️ 10% off discount code for your first purchase

🔮 Printable cheat sheets on the tarot card meanings

💎 Free crystal grids to print and use

🌌 Easy ways to level up your spiritual development

📈 Tools and tips on spiritual growth, inspiration and creativity

Your eBook sneak peek 👀

Subscriber E-Book.png
bottom of page